LOS ALTOS SCHOOL DISTRICT

Board of Trustees

Special Meeting/Study Session Minutes Los Altos School District Board Room 201 Covington Road, Los Altos **December 13, 2010**

CALL TO ORDER The meeting was called to order by Mr. Cooper at 6:00 p.m.

PRESENT Mr. Bill Cooper, President; Mr. Mark Goines, Vice-President; Mr. Doug Smith, Clerk;

Mrs. Margot Harrigan, Member

ABSENT Ms. Tamara Logan, Member

ADMINISTRATION Mr. Jeffrey Baier, Superintendent; Mrs. Alyssa Gallagher, Assistant Superintendent, Curriculum

and Instruction; Mr. Randall Kenyon, Assistant Superintendent, Business

STAFF None

PRESS None

OTHERS Tom Campbell, Jay Gill, Margaret Brooks

CLOSED SESSION The meeting adjourned to Closed Session at 6:01 p.m. for liability claims pursuant to

Government Code §54961 and anticipated litigation pursuant to Government Code §54957.

RECONVENE TO OPEN SESSION

The meeting reconvened at 6:35 p.m.

PLEDGE OF **ALLEGIANCE** Mr. Cooper asked the public to stand and recite the Pledge of Allegiance to the flag.

CLOSED SESSION REPORT

Mr. Cooper reported no action was taken in Closed Session.

AGENDA APPROVAL MSC: Mr. Goines, Mrs. Harrigan to approve the agenda of the meeting.

AYES: 5

NOES: 0 ABSENT: 0

PARCEL TAX **SURVEY RESULTS** Ms. Ruth Bernstein from EMC Research, Inc. shared the results of the parcel tax survey. Ms. Bernstein reported 400 interviews were conducted December 1-5 and the results have a

margin of error of +/- 4.9%.

This survey was conducted using a Split Sample, with half of the survey participants given a tax amount of \$329 and the other half given a tax amount of \$249. As with the survey conducted in May, this survey continued to show strong community support for the district but there is price sensitivity with voters due to concerns with the economy. Ms. Bernstein recommended a parcel tax increase should not exceed \$200.

Mr. Baier reported a decision on calling a parcel tax election would need to be made by the January 24, 2011 meeting.

ADJOURNMENT	MSC: Mrs. Harrigan, Mr. Goines to adjourn the meeting at 8:03 p.m.		
	AYES: 5	NOES: 0	ABSENT: 0
	_		
	Date		
	Jeffrey Baier, Secretary to the Board of Trustees		
Doug Smith, Clerk			